A Creamy, Smooth and Delicious Gazpacho

Hello Friday, Hello You!

I told you before that I am not a big fan of the Spanish cold type of soups, right?

Well, the fact is that the weather is so warm that I arrive at the end of the day so tired with the heat that my survival kit is based on cold salads and watermelon…until yesterday!

When last week I found that the sweet Hemsley Sisters prepared a Gazpacho recipe including fresh herbs and avocado, I thought to myself…And if I try to do my own instead of the stored bought one?

And voilá…A fresh, smooth, very tasty Gazpacho to refresh and bright our summer meals!

IMG_4126.JPG

I believe we are all still heading for a hot weekend, so either for your own home or to take it to a friends gathering, a picnic or a barbecue, try this recipe…Simply my blending all ingredients and seasoning to taste!

Happy Weekend

heart

A Creamy and Smooth Gazpacho

I followed the Hemsley+Hemsley recipe, with the exception that I roasted the red pepper for a nice kind of smoky flavour! The good thing of this recipe is that you can blend all the ingredients together and while you go along you can season to taste, add more lemon juice, vinegar, salt or pepper.

IMG_4124.JPG

INGREDIENTS

  • 8 large, ripe tomatoes, peeled
  • ½ medium red pepper (roasted if wanted)
  • ½ large cucumber, peeled
  • 1 medium avocado 
  • 1 small red or white onion 
  • 3 large cloves of garlic
  • 1 handful of fresh herbs (I used parsley and basil)
  • 1 tsp of good quality balsamic vinegar
  • Juice of ½ a lemon or lime
  • 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
  • Sea salt and pepper

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Roast the red pepper in a hot oven.
  • Chop all ingredients and throw them into the blender (depending on how strong your blender is you will need to chop more or less).
  • Blitz until smooth and taste for seasoning, adding more lime/lemon juice, vinegar, salt and pepper or even some more fresh herbs.
  • Check the texture, I like to have it in a bowl with a spoon so a smooth creamy texture is ideal but if you like to drink it over a glass add some cold water until you obtain the desired texture.
  • Keep refrigerated until serving.
  • Serve with some  toasted pumpkin seeds, black pepper and a drizzle of olive oil.

 

Love,

Like it, share it, comment it, spread it…

star

Leave a Reply

